DIG-IT!: Digitization of natural complexity to solve ecological problems that are relevant for society

Contact

Project leader:
Prof. Martin Wilmking, Ph.D.

Scientific coordination:
Dr. Mario Trouillier

Soldmannstraße 15
17489 Greifswald

Phone.: +49 (0)3834 420 4185
dig-it(at)uni-greifswald.de

The excellency program of the federal state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern for the digitization of research is funding the project ‘DIG-IT!'  Digitization of natural complexity to solve ecological problems that are relevant for society’, lead by Prof. Martin Wilmking. From Juli 2019 to August 2022, two Mio. Euro are available for the researchers to develop a methodological toolkit to analyze ecological image and sound data with machine learning methods (‘deep convolutional neural networks’). Several institutes from the University Greifswald are part of DIG-IT!, as well as Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD in Rostock.

The aim of DIG-IT!  is to grasp the opportunities digitization offers and make the new technologies applicable for ecological research. Thus, urgent ecological questions that are relevant for society will be tackled with state-of-the art technologies, while also qualifying a new generation of digitally competent ecologists, bio-mathematicians and computer scientists. A wide range of research topics is explored, for example ecosystem stability under climate change and land-use change, species protection, as well as innovative environmental monitoring. In particular, the aim is to facilitate a quantum leap in various disciplines by developing universally applicable methods that use trainable algorithms (deep convolutional neural networks), because in the digital age the main challenge is not just the amount of data, but also the evaluation of vast databases. To this aim, DIG-IT!  connects the expertise of the developers form the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research and the Institute for Biomathematics at the University Greifswald with the applied research questions regarding urgent ecological questions which are explored in the Institute for Botany and Landscape Ecology and the Zoological Institute and Museum.

Publication statistics for ‘deep learning’ between 2002 and 2017 (research by the Fraunhofer IGD by using Scopus). Biology (‚agricultural and biological sciences‘ in ‚other‘, right) only contributes about 1% of all these documents – thus DIG-IT!

 

 

Extract from the jury‘s vote:

„The proposal DIG-IT!  aims to tackle urgent ecological questions by the application of digital tools, in particular the evaluation of primary data, which currently poses a challenge. (…) The jury is convinced of the projects scientific excellency. In particular the idea to develop a digital toolkit is impressive. Appreciated is also the connection to previous and existing research cooperatives like WETSCAPES und RESPONSE [DFG graduate college ‚Biological RESPONSEs to Novel and Changing Environments‘] and to use their findings for the promotion of the young academics.“

 


 

The project "DIG-IT!"  is funded by the European Social Fund and the Ministry for Education, Science and Culture of the federal state Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

DIG-IT!: Digitalisierung natürlicher Komplexität zur Lösung gesellschaftlich relevanter ökologischer Probleme

Kontakt

Projektleiter:
Prof. Martin Wilmking, Ph.D.

Wissenschaftliche Koordination:
Dr. Mario Trouillier

Soldmannstraße 15
17489 Greifswald

Tel.: +49 (0)3834 420 4185
dig-it(at)uni-greifswald.de

Das Landesexzellenzprogramm MV "Digitalisierung in der Forschung" fördert das Konsortium „DIG-IT!  Digitalisierung natürlicher Komplexität zur Lösung gesellschaftlich relevanter ökologischer Probleme“ unter Leitung von Prof. Martin Wilmking. Von Juli 2019 bis August 2022 stehen den Forscher*Innen 2 Mio Euro zur Verfügung, um einen methodischen Werkzeugkasten zu entwickeln, der ökologische Bild- und Audiodaten mit Hilfe von machine learning Techniken (deep convolutional neural networks) eigenständig erfassen und kategorisieren kann. Am Forschungsverbund sind mehrere Institute der Universität Greifswald beteiligt. Ihnen steht als Projektpartner das Fraunhofer Institut für Grafische Datenverarbeitung Rostock zur Seite.

DIG-IT!  will die Chancen der Digitalisierung für die ökologischen Wissenschaften nutzbar machen. Dazu wird DIG-IT! drängenden ökologischen Fragen von hoher gesellschaftlicher Relevanz mit zukunftsweisendem Methodenarsenal begegnen und dabei digitalkompetente Ökolog*Innen und ökologisch versierte Biomathematiker*Innen und Informatiker*Innen qualifizieren. Der Fragenkatalog ist breit und umfasst Leistungsfunktionen und Stabilität von Ökosystemen unter Klima- und Landnutzungswandel, Artenschutz und innovatives Umweltmonitoring. Ziel ist ein “fachspezifischer Quantensprung” durch die Entwicklung von universell anwendbaren Verfahren unter Verwendung selbst lernender Algorithmen („Deep Convolutional Neural Networks“), denn im digitalen Zeitalter liegt die Herausforderung nicht mehr in der Menge an verfügbaren Primärdaten, sondern in deren Auswertung. DIG-IT! verschränkt zu diesem Zweck die Entwicklerexpertise für die automatisierte Analyse von Bilddaten (Fraunhofer Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung, Rostock und Biomathematik, Universität Greifswald) mit der Anwendung auf drängende ökologische Fragen (Botanik / Landschaftsökologie / Zoologie, Universität Greifswald).

 

Publikationsstatistik zu “Deep Learning” zwischen 2002 und 2017 (Recherche des Fraunhofer IGD unter Nutzung von Scopus). Die Biologie (“agricultural and biological sciences” in “other”, rechts) stellt lediglich ca. 1% (!) aller Dokumente - deshalbDIG-IT!

 

Auszug aus dem Juryvotum:


„Das Vorhaben DIG-IT! möchte dringende ökologische Fragestellungen durch den Einsatz von digitalen Techniken angehen, wobei die Auswertung von Primärdaten eine besondere Herausforderung darstellt. (…) Die Jury ist von der wissenschaftlichen Exzellenz des Projektes überzeugt. Insbesondere beeindruckt die Idee, einen ökologischen Werkzeugkasten zu erarbeiten. Gewürdigt wird auch der Ansatz, an bereits bestehende exzellente Forschungsverbünde wie WETSCAPES und RESPONSE [DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Biological RESPONSEs to Novel and Changing Environments“] anzudocken und deren Erkenntnisse vor allem auch für die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses zu nutzen.“


 

Das Verbundprojekt „DIG-IT!” wird durch den Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) und dem Ministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gefördert.